If you want to purchase and sell real estate in Georgia, you’ll need one of these real estate licenses, whether you want to be a real estate agent or broker. To become an agent, you must be 18 years old, and to become a broker, you must be 21 years old. You must also finish particular real estate coursework, pass a test (or two, depending on the license), and pass a criminal background check.
To pass your exam easily on the first try, let’s get started with our Georgia real estate exam practice test pack now!
Which type of license is best for you? A real estate agent and a real estate broker differ mostly in terms of years of experience and education. For starters, an agent must work under the supervision of a certified broker, whereas brokers can work for themselves and/or recruit agents. In Georgia, becoming a broker also necessitates completing extra courses and working as an agent for at least three years.
Obtaining your Georgia real estate license may be difficult, but we’re here to help you every step of the way. If you don’t know how to become a real estate agent in Georgia, read this article to discover the process to begin your real estate professional in Georgia.
What are the requirements for a Georgia real estate license?
In Georgia, there are two types of licenses, and the requirements differ based on which one you have. In Georgia, for example, a real estate agent is licensed to handle real estate transactions but must work under the supervision of a licensed broker. A broker, on the other hand, can run their own company and hire other agents to work for them.
License requirements for agents:
- In order to participate, candidates must be over the age of 18
- Must finish 75 hours of real estate coursework from an approved provider or 10 quarter hours/six semester hours of acceptable real estate courses at an accredited college, university, or law school in the US or Canada.
- Must pass a final test and submit an application for a license within 12 months of the exam date
- Must be completely honest with all information given and pass a background check
- A broker must be the sponsor.
License requirements for brokers:
- To take the Real Estate exam, you must be at least 20 years old, and you must be 21 years old before your license may be activated
- Working as an agent or in the broader real estate business for at least three years is required
- Must finish 60 hours of authorized pre-broker real estate curriculum or 15 quarter hours/nine semester hours of acceptable real estate coursework at an accredited college, university, or law school in the U.S. or Canadian
- Must pass a final test and submit an application for a license within 12 months of the exam date
- Must be completely honest with all information given and pass a background check.
A word about background checks: On your application, you must state any criminal convictions. A conviction may or may not disqualify you depending on the offense. Failure to report a conviction for even a minor violation will result in your application being denied right away. If you have a criminal past, you can apply for a background clearance before applying for licensing.
How do I get my Georgia real estate salespersons license? – 6 Steps
Step 1: Complete 75 hours of pre-licensing instruction that has been approved
Complete a 75-hour pre-licensing salesperson course that has been approved. Please see the Georgia Real Estate Commission’s website for education exemptions for graduates of an accredited law school, those who have received a degree from a university with a major course of study in real estate, and those who have a current license in another jurisdiction seeking licensure in Georgia.
Step 2: Pass the final test for the course
There is a course final test when you have completed all of the course materials. A minimum passing score of 72 percent is required.
Every final must be taken in front of a proctor. You must make an appointment with a proctor ahead of time.
Step 3: Obtain a criminal background check
You must present a certified criminal history record produced by the Georgia Crime Information Center of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation or a certified criminal history report from your residence state no more than 60 days previous to completing the application.
Step 4: Choose a broker to work as a sponsor
You must first be connected with a current and active Georgia sponsoring broker in order to be licensed. Finding the appropriate broker to work with is critical since this individual will serve as your mentor as you begin your new real estate career. As you begin your search, consider the following questions:
- What is their local and national reputation like?
- What type of real estate agents do they require?
- Are they technologically sophisticated and have the most up-to-date systems?
- How do they provide education and training to their agents?
- Is there a commission structure available?
- Do they provide any benefits?
- Do they give leads and marketing materials to their agents?
- Is there room for the brokerage to expand?
Step 5: Pass the Georgia Real Estate Sales Associate Examination
The Georgia Real Estate Salesperson license test is administered by PSI (formerly AMP). This 152-question exam is divided into two sections, each of which covers both state and national standards. You can prepare for your coming exam with our free Real Estate practice exam pack.
Step 6: Get your driver’s license
You can apply for your license at any of Georgia’s four PSI Test Centers after passing the Georgia Real Estate Salesperson exam. You may apply for your license at the testing site after 2:00 p.m. on the day you took the exam, or at any time within 12 months of the day, you completed the exam.
How many questions are on the Georgia real estate exam?
If you are looking for a broker’s license, you must finish the appropriate number of pre-licensing education and provide documentation of years working before taking your Georgia real estate license test. Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) are hired by the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) to administer the state’s real estate license examinations. Unless you’re applying using college course credit or out-of-state reciprocity, or you’re a Florida candidate, you can apply to take your exam online using the AMP portal. In certain circumstances, you’ll need to mail the candidate handbook’s application.
There are 152 multiple-choice questions on the agent test, 52 of which are particular to Georgia. You will receive your score immediately after completing the exam, which will take four hours. You must also bring your broker sponsorship application if you want your license activated on the spot.
The broker test differs from the agent exam in terms of structure. You’ll get three hours to answer 11 simulation tasks instead of multiple-choice questions. You must pass the Georgia Supplement Exam, which consists of 48 multiple-choice questions if you are a Florida resident wanting to be a broker in Georgia. You can apply to retake your test if you fail it the first time.
Read more>> How to Study for Real Estate Exam?
Which states have real estate license reciprocity with Georgia?
All states have reciprocity agreements with Georgia. You must have a current license in good standing from your home state in order to purchase or sell real estate in Georgia.
You can file a real estate reciprocal application if you match the preceding conditions. Before being able to practice in Georgia, Florida agents and brokers must pass a Georgia-specific exam. Brokers who want to start their practice must fill out an application to form a business.
How often and when must a real estate license be renewed in Georgia?
Real estate licenses in Georgia are valid for four years and can be renewed online or by mail up to 120 days before they expire. Renewal costs for both agents and brokers will be $125, with a $25 reduction for online renewals.
You must reinstate your license and pay a late charge if you miss your renewal deadline by 30 days. If you miss your renewal deadline by more than 30 days but less than a year, your license will be put on hold and you’ll have to apply for a real estate change. In addition to the change application, you will need to fill out an application for reinstatement if your license has expired for more than one year. There may be late fines for any delays.
There are several statutes and regulations in Georgia that pertain to various real estate issues. Homestead laws, which allow property owners to protect a portion of their home from creditors in certain circumstances, and adverse possession laws, which allow someone who has fixed up a neglected property to take ownership, are two specific property and real estate laws that every agent and broker should be aware of. The Georgia Real Estate Commission & Appraisers Board also releases monthly newsletters that contain the most recent changes and updates.
FAQs – How to become a real estate agent in Georgia
What does a Georgia real estate license cost?
In Georgia, aspiring agents may expect to spend between $540 and $690 for their basic license, while brokers can expect to pay between $785 and $959 owing to the additional courses necessary. The costs are broken down as follows:
- The cost of pre-licensing exam education for agents ranges from $200 to $350 on average
- The additional coursework hours will cost brokers an additional $245 to $269
Both the agent and broker licenses cost $170
- Both licenses have exam costs of $121
- A criminal history check is also required for both licenses, which will cost about $50.
Other expenses for association memberships, office space, additional training, and asking for waivers from specific regulations may apply. Agents and brokers may also expect to pay $145 for continuing education and $100 to $125 in renewal fees every four years to keep their licenses current.
How long does it take to get a real estate license in Georgia?
Depending on where you reside, being a real estate agent might take anywhere from four to six months from start to finish. In Georgia, though, getting your driver’s license might take as little as three to nine weeks. 4 If you haven’t already done so, you may need another couple of months to find a sponsored broker. A Georgia real estate agent’s average yearly compensation is $71,241.5.
Due to the extra requirements of completing an additional 60 hours of pre-broker real estate training and having previously worked three years as an agent or three years in the broader real estate business, the route to becoming a broker may take a bit longer. A real estate broker in Georgia earns an average of $97,762 a year.
Is it possible to apply for a real estate license in Georgia online?
In Georgia, you can earn your license right away if you pass your exam, which you can register for online after completing the required number of hours of pre-licensing study.
If you pass the exam, you can acquire your license right away if you have all of the necessary paperwork, which includes a supporting broker statement, a notarized declaration of lawful presence, and a Georgia criminal information report. Before you have to retake any exam, you have up to 12 months to activate your license.
Is post-licensing education required in Georgia?
For each four-year license renewal, Georgia real estate agents and brokers must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education coursework. All classes must be taken at one of Georgia’s approved real estate schools.
Read more>> How To Become A Real Estate Agent In New Jersey?
Acquiring a Georgia real estate license may be tough, but becoming a licensed real estate agent is a great way to earn money by assisting people in the purchase, sale, and rental of real estate. Now that you know “how to become a real estate agent in Georgia”, it will be much easier for you when you get your Georgia real estate license.